Cooperative movement in the State dates back to the year 1946 when two Cooperative Societies one each in Kohima and Mokokchung were established. The Office of the Registrar of Cooperative Societies, Nagaland was established in the year 1966 by bifurcating from Agriculture Department.

The Nagaland Cooperative Societies (Amendment) Ordinance 2010